The Rip van Winkle Syndrome

downloadFor quite a long time, I have been contemplating about my sleeping habits and how sometimes my brain would just like to go to sleep and not wake up. It craves to sleep like Rip van Winkle, Washington Irving’s character who slept for 20 long years. But I was never sleep deprived! Yes, I like working at night and that doesn’t mean that I compromise on sleep. But now I face a new dilemma, lack of sleep! How does one cope when one simply can’t go to sleep at night? And I don’t even know why I’m spending my nights tossing around on my bed, trying to listen to the beats of my heart which sounds abnormally fast. Some time ago, when I mentioned the story of Rip van Winkle to my mother, she suggested that I’m trying to be like him- those were days when I might end up clocking in 14 hours of sleep on a typical weekend. I joked then that I might be suffering from ‘Rip van Winkle Syndrome’. And in these times of trying insomnia, all I wish is that the dwarves with the pins would lure me into a cave for a game and put me to sleep night after night.

Standard

Leave a Reply

